TFG Logo


More...   /   Cricket   /  

India have announced a balanced, versatile squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the 15 member India squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022. The T20 World will start on the 27th of October. The Indian contingent looks like a balanced squad with all bases covered. 

It’s not at all an ordinary Squad. With the right blend of youth and experience this bunch has the skill to adapt to any condition. They possess the grit to counter any challenges a pitch is likely to throw at them and push forward the performance of the team collectively.

For example in the recently concluded India vs England T20 Series, the team displayed the strength and the skill to lead the team to success. They prevailed against all odds even when the ball was swinging left right and centre, proving that they can shoulder the responsibility in high risk situations and make conditions better for their team. 

The batting line up is equally solid with players like. KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, who are at the top of their game and have given us enough reasons to trust them with their excellent contribution to the game of cricket.

KL Rahul a player with immense craft and has batted from position 1 to 6 throughout his career spanning 16 years. A versatile cricketer, has no qualms adjusting to any given scenario that comes up during the game. Rohit Sharma a predominantly front foot player, scores most of his runs between mid-wicket and mid-off and in Australia with his kind of technique, he is ought to be an asset.

Virat Kohli, rightly called the king, is back in a roaring form at an appropriate time. Setting the Asia cup ablaze by getting the 100,  for which the whole of India was waiting with abated breath, he sure is going to leave his footprints in this tournament too.

The bowling line up also looks prudent with the comeback of bowlers like Harshal Patel and Jasprit Bumrah. We also have world class spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal to name a few. Although I would have liked to see Kuldeep Yadav being picked purely because of  him being a left arm Chinaman leg spin bowler.

Reason being that there are big boundaries in Australia, so a left arm Chinaman bowler could have provided variety in the bowling attack and proven to be a weapon for the Indian side.

India's T20 World Cup squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players: Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.

Related Post

Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.