TFG Logo


PBL   /   Awadhe Warriors   /  

PBL 2017: TEAM PREVIEW -- Watch out for a power-packed Awadhe Warriors squad

AWADHE WARRIORS finished on top of the points table but lost out a place in the finals losing to Chennai Smashers in the semis. Fans got to witness Saina Nehwal vs PV Sindhu clash where the latter took the match and helped her team sail into the finals.

In the upcoming season that is just couple of days away, once again Awadhe have formed a strong squad with the likes of Saina and Kidambi Srikanth once again playing for the team. There are also interesting additions like Parupalli Kashyap in the singles while Hendra Setiwan in the doubles department.

Saina is slowly gaining back her top form, this year her biggest win came at the World Championships winning the Bronze. No further information is required to talk about Srikanth as he has had a great year with four Super Series titles and reaching his career best ranking of World No. 2.

Though he didn't have a great outing at the yearend World Finals in Dubai, he is in great form and expect his domination in the league. It will be interesting to see the likes of the best under one roof.

Kashyap's addition only boosts the team and is likely to take the spot of the second men's singles match. The other shuttler in the singles is Harshit Aggarwal. With the depth they have in the singles department makes the Warriors a tough squad.

While the likes of Hendra Setiwan, an Olympic gold medallist and a three-time World Champion in men's doubles, he will be leading the doubles front. Hendra along with Tang Chun Man and/or Or Ching Chung will be paired up with each other.

In the mixed doubles front, it will be a great sight for the fans to see Hendra and Christinna Pedersen playing together. The Danish shuttler along with her doubles partner Kamilla Rytter Juhl won the European Championships and in the mixed doubles too. The pairing of Hendra and Christinna could prove to be a cracker of a combination in the league.

The other Indian shuttlers in the squad are Mahima Aggarwal (WD/XD) and Sai Uttejitha Rao (WS).

As a whole, Awadhe Warriors will prove to be a lethal squad challenging for the title with a balanced side.

Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.

Related Post



Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.



With mummy in Lucknow for premier badminton league 2016 󾮗

Posted by Saina Nehwal on Sunday, January 3, 2016