PBL's newest franchise Ahmedabad Smash Masters launched; Prannoy & Tai Tzu Ying form the core squad

Ahmedabad Smash Masters was officially launched at the Mumbai’s Press Club earlier today.

The Smash Masters, along side North Eastern Warriors, will make its debut in the third edition of the PBL. The tournament, to be played from 23 December-14 January, will be staged across five different cities.

The Smash Masters squad will feature amongst others Women’s World No.1 Tai Tzu-Ying of Taiwan and India’s Men’s World No.10 HS Prannoy.

The other members of the squad are: Kamilla Rytter Juhl (Denmark), Lee Chun Hei Reginald (Hong Kong), Law Cheuk Him (Hong Kong), Kidambi Nandagopal (India), Sourabh Verma (India), ASS Siril Verma (India) Stefani Stoeva (Bulgaria) and Sri Krishna Priya (India)

But before the star-studded roster of Ahmedabad Smash Masters take the field in the tournament, the franchise will set about finding the next big talent from the state of Gujarat, as part of their commitment towards the development of the sport in the state. The Smash Masters have initiated an unique grassroots programme-Ahmedabad Smash Masters Future Stars Program-in partnership with Gujarat Badminton Association (GBA) with an aim to scout for some talented youngsters. The first tournament, as part of this initiative, will take place for under-13 and under-15 (boys and girls), from 16-19 December.

To mark the launch, Mr. Ashish Shah – Chairman & MD, Padmanabh Industries & Padmanabh Sports, said,

“We are very proud to launch the Ahmedabad Smash Masters, Gujarat’s very own side in the PBL. Badminton has come up by leaps and bounds in India in the last five years, so it became a natural fit for us to be associated with it. Our squad has a mix of the best of India and the world with the likes of Prannoy and Tai Tzu-Ying. We have assembled a very exciting roster that will make the state of Gujarat very proud.”


Related Post