East Bengal win CFL unbeaten, edge past Southern Samity 2-1

EAST BENGAL DEFEATED Southern Samity 2-1 in Kolkata on Thursday to become unconquered champions of the Calcutta Football League (CFL) premier division.

Prohlad Roy and Mohammad Rafique scored for East Bengal whereas Khaidem Vicky Meitei got into the scoresheet for Samity.

East Bengal, thus finish their campaign atop the leader board with 28 points from 10 games. Samity are third on the table with 15 points from 10 outings.

The first goal came in the 37th minute of the game as Roy found the net after latching onto a long ball from Rafique. The Southern Samity players protested for a possible offside, but the goal was allowed.

At halftime East Bengal led 1-0.

Two minutes into the second half Vicky equalised for Samity with a brilliant header.

Rafique then found the winner for the champions in the 69th minute of the game smashing the ball in from close in with a right footer.

East Bengal already became champions for a record-equalling sixth time after beating traditional rivals 4-0 on September 6.

Related Post