Monika Athare and M D Yunus lead the Indian Challenge at the TCS World 10K in Bengaluru

WITH JUST over a week for the World’s premier 10K run in Bengaluru, the sign-in sheets confirm that India’s best track & field specialists and road racers are scheduled to return to Bangalore for the TCS W10K. With an eye on the Rs. 2,50,000 individual prize money, headlining the elite race amongst the Indian athletes will be Half Marathon champion at the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon 2017, Monika Athare, and Tata Kolkata 25K 2016 winner MD Yunus.

MD Yunus
Monica Athare

Another experienced TCS World10K campaigner and last year’s runner up Suresh Patel looks to be Yunus’ toughest competition. Patel who clocked an impressive 00:30:36secs, will look to make up for the two seconds that came between him and the prestigious 10K title last year. Srinu Bugatha who is the third entry from last year’s top ten Indian finishers will also add to this year’s competitive line-up. The male line-up also boasts of the winner of the 3000m Cross Country Championship in 2016, Kishore M, who while making his debut amongst these men at 21, will be the youngest athlete at the 10K this year.

“Last year we had a very tough race, where I was struggling with the heat which had slowed me down. Taking a cue from that, this year I have taken precautions to ensure that the warm conditions do not set me back. I hope my efforts pay off and I am able to better my timing and ranking from the last edition” said MD Yunus, who won the Kolkata Marathon 2016 with a timing of 2:30:37 and stood third at the ADHM with a timing of 01:04:47.

Monika Athare who won the Half Marathon at the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon, held in January this year will lead the Women’s charge along with Swati Gadhave, who will focus on improving her 00:34:45 finish in last year’s edition. Commenting on her participation this year, Monika shared,

“Having won the latest editions of Tata Steel Kolkata 25K and the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon back to back, I will look to continue my good form and will take confidence from my performances to better my time.”

Monika had clocked 00:36:54secs during her last stint at the TCS World 10K in 2015. Joining Monika and Swati, will be Sanjeevani Jadhav, Manisha Salunke and Jyoti Chauhan, from the top 10 finishers from last year, who will be looking to convert their top 10 spots into podium finishes.

With an impressive elite line-up of Indian athletes the promoters, Procam International have implemented a revised race schedule that allows amateur runners return to the stadium to witness, over breakfast, the finale clash between these top athletes, with the women’s elite race being flagged off at 8:00 am followed by the men’s elite at 8:50 am.

Related Post