Gopi T and Monika Athare win the IDBI New Delhi Marathon 2017

Gopi T and Monika Athare won the 2nd edition of IDBI Federal Life Insurance New Delhi Marathon 2017 on Sunday in Delhi; both finished their full marathon in 2:15:37 and 2:39:08 respectively. All four races were flagged off by Sachin Tendulkar, the face of the event from Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. 

Sachin Tendulkar, the face of the event said,

“The positive thing about having this marathon is getting everyone more engaged, more involved and lead a better healthy lifestyle. There is so much enthusiasm among the people of Delhi who participated. "There were some special kids who were taking part on wheelchair. Hats off to their commitment and their grit. They were looking to break their own records and that is really inspiring. In spite of these huge challenges, they were willing to go out and show the spirit."This is something for all of us to learn. All in all the response has been good and it is all about leading a better lifestyle. I hope that with the support of the people, this event gets bigger and bigger.

Deaf and Mute boy, Apoorv Om from Delhi presents Sachin Tendulkar with the portrait

It was a tough competition amongst the elite male athletes in full marathon as all three winners were eyeing qualification for the World Championship. Gopi T from Pune's Army Sports Institute said,

“I am happy on winning the title. Dhoni and myself were running together from start till the 25K mark. This is my first marathon in 2017, where I grabbed the winning title." When asked about his future plans he said, “I will be running for Asian Championship in June and also in London Marathon."

Bahadur Singh Dhoni who is also from Army Sports Institute, Pune finished the race with a timing of 2:16:09 and was the 1st runner-up. When asked about his experience of running with Gopi T, he said that running with Gopi T for almost 25K helped him to give his best, due to which he completed his race in 2:16:07 which was his best performance. He was followed by Sanjit Luwang who grabbed the 3rd position with a time of 2:17:20.

 Sachin Tendulkar & Vighnesh Shahane, CEO IDBI Life Insurance with Full Marathon winners in men category

In women’s full marathon category, Monika Athare from Nashik completed the race in 2:39:08 to come up tops in her maiden 42k. She started the race with confidence and won the race easily maintaining a steady lead right from the start. Athare was followed by Jyoti Gawate with a time of 2:53:48 and Ranjan Kumari who clocked 3:08:04 to finish third.

After winning her debut full marathon title Monika Athare said, “This is the first time I’ve run a full marathon and wining it means a lot. I am extremely happy for finishing the run in 2:40.”

Sachin Tendulkar & Haile Gebrselassie with Full Marathon winners in women category of IDBI New Delhi Marathon

In the half marathon, G. Lakshamanan and Man Singh both ran together till 18km mark. In the last 3 km G. Lakshamanan broke away aiming for the finish line and won the title with a time of 1:04:29. It was a tough competition between the top three - Man Singh followed just 10 seconds behind whilst Olympian Kheta Ram finished third with 1:06:15 on the clock.

Manju Yadav who has trained herself in Bhopal, won the half marathon edition by completing the race in 1:21:02. When she was asked about the race, she said

“The weather and route were comfortable which helped me to a great extent in winning the title.” On being asked about her future plans, she said, “I am planning to improve my timing in the upcoming marathon."

Arpita Saini, second position holder finished the race in 1:25:34 and she was followed by Neetu Singh who stood 3rd with 1:27:11 in half marathon in women’s category.  

(Full Marathon winner in Men’s category): Gopi T 2:15:37; Bahadhur Singh Dhoni 2:16:09; T H Sanjith 2:17:20 
(Full Marathon winner in women's category): Monika Athare 2:30:08; Jyothi Gawate 2:53:48; Ranjana Kumari 3:08:04 
(Half Marathon winner in Men's category): G. Lakshamanan 1:04:29; Man Singh 1:04:39; Khetaram 1:06:15 
(Half Marathon winner in Women's category): Manju Yadav 1:21:02; Arpita Saini 1:25:34; Neetu Singh 1:27:11
(10K winner in Men’s category): Mohan Saini 31:08; Dinesh Kumar Bind 31:17; Somong Raman 31:17
(10K winner in Women's category): Reeta Bisht: 42:13; Jayanti Thapliyal 42:35; Nikki Rai 45:22

Related Post