RuturaJ Gaikwad to lead India squad for Asian Games in Hangzhou

RUTURAJ GAIKWAD has been appointed as the captain of the Indian men's squad for the upcoming Asian Games T20 competition.

Since the ICC Men's Cricket ODI World Cup is scheduled to commence in India on October 5, just two days before the conclusion of the Hangzhou Asian Games cricket tournament, BCCI have decided to field a second-string men's side led by the Chennai Super Kings player.

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, and Jitesh Sharma are all part of a young group of players named for the competition.

Among the T20I players to tour West Indies, six are retained: Jaiswal, Tilak, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, and Avesh Khan.

Rinku Singh, who showcased his power-hitting and finishing abilities in the Indian Premier League, earned a maiden call-up, while Jitesh Sharma returns to the T20I squad after being left out of the touring party to West Indies. 

Prabhsimran Singh is the other wicketkeeping option in the squad.

Washington Sundar and Rahul Tripathi also return to the T20I squad as does all-rounder Shivam Dube, who last played for India in 2020. Shahbaz Ahmed and Shivam Mavi also feature in the squad named for the competition.

Among the reserve players are Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Sai Sudharsan and capped players Venkatesh Iyer and Deepak Hooda.

The Men’s Selection Committee of the BCCI picked the squad for 19th Asian Games Hangzhou 2022 to be held from 19th September to 8th October 2023 at Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field. The men’s cricket competition will take place from 28th September to 8th October in a T20 format. 

Team India (Senior Men) squad for 19th Asian Games: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk)

Standby list of players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan.

Related Post