ISL 2020-21 set to begin on November 20th

AT LONG LAST the start date of the Indian Super League's 2020-21 season has been officially announced.

The league will kick start on 20th November at its designated central venues in Goa. The announcement was made by the ISL's official social media handles earlier today.

The matches will be shown live on the Star Sports Network (Star Sports 2, Star Sports 3, Star Sports 1 regional versions etc) and Hotstar.

This is set to be the largest edition of the league till date with 11 clubs competing for the League Winners' Shield. The Shield is the de-facto title for the Champions of India, and will grant the winners a prestigious entry to the coveted AFC Champions League 2022 group stage; just as last season's League champions FC Goa earned a place in ACL 2021.

There is extra enthusiasm around this season's ISL due to the addition of highly popular centenarian clubs East Bengal and Mohun Bagan. The two clubs will continue their long-standing rivalry, known as the Kolkata Derby, on the ISL stage, boosting the league's profile and popularity across the country and beyond.

The rivalry between Bengaluru FC and Kerala Blasters along with the improved squads of Mumbai City, Chennaiyin FC and Jamshedpur FC are expected to make this the most competitive edition of the league ever, with Goa multiple credible oppositions as they seek to defend the Shield.

Related Post