TFG Logo


ISL   /   Indian Football   /  

ISL 2020-21 home grounds -- teams divided between Fatorda, Bambolim and Vasco

THE 2020-21 SEASON of the Indian Super League will take place behind closed doors in Goa, with the de-facto "home grounds" of the participating clubs divided between three stadiums.

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda, Margao will be the home to FC Goa, ATK Mohun Bagan FC and Bengaluru FC. These are the three clubs at the top of the 2019-20 season's "order of merit" and will represent Indian football in Asia. FC Goa will play in the AFC Champions League group stage thanks to winning the ISL League Stage. Mohun Bagan who won the I-League are playing in the AFC Cup group stage, while Bengaluru FC, who finished third in the ISL League Stage, are playing in the AFC Cup Qualifiers.

Fatorda Stadium will host the clubs who won Asian slots

The GMC Stadium in Bambolim will have 4 clubs setting up camp for the season. Chennaiyin FC, Mumbai City FC, Odisha FC and Kerala Blasters will have this arena, which was picked as a venue for the Lusofonia Games 2014 and as a practice ground for the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017, will see a lot of upgradation efforts from ISL organizers FSDL before the season begins, including the setting up of new camera towers and improvements to the pitch.

The urban-embedded and football-exclusive Tilak Maidan Stadium in Vasco will be the seasonal home for Jamshedpur FC, NorthEast United and Hyderabad FC. This arena will also see some upgrades, including the dressing room.

FSDL is currently in the process of selecting 10 practice grounds for the clubs. Accomodations, plans for transport and COVID-19 safety protocols have already been more or less finalised.

While the authorities in Goa have not ruled out allowing spectators to attend the match at some point in the futurue, there isn't much chance of fans being let in unless there is a significant improvement to the coronavirus situation.

ISL 2020-21 will kick off in November; the fixtures are expected to be out by this month. 

Meanwhile both the I-League and the 2nd Division League will take place in Kolkata this season; with the 2nd Division League starting the national season around September and the champions going straight into the I-League 2020-21.

Subscribe to Indian Football Newsletter

* indicates required

Related Post

Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.