East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, Peerless feature in Super Sunday CFL showdown

THE CALCUTTA FOOTBALL LEAGUE'S TITLE RACE will conclude with 3 simultaneous matches on Sunday.

With defending champions Mohun Bagan, their arch rivals East Bengal who hold the record for winning most CFL titles and dark horses Peerless SC set to have a shot at winning the championship, the Indian Football Association (West Bengal) has decided to organize a simultaneous kick-off for their last matches.

The decision mirrors the I-League which has hosted two or more simultaneous matches to resolve the top division title race for the last three seasons.

East Bengal, whose title bid got a massive boost when they beat Mohammedan Sporting at the Salt Lake Stadium yesterday, will face Calcutta Customs at their own stadium. Mohun Bagan, too, will conclude their CFL stadium at their own stadium, facing Kalighat MS. Peerless SC, who re-claimed the top of the table today beating Rainbow AC 1-0, will face George Telegraph at the Barasat Stadium.

All three matches will kick-off at 2:30 pm, according to a press released issued by the IFA.

The IFA Press Release

The decision has raised some concerns, including that of Peerless, who face Rainbow FC on Friday, having to play again within 48 hours. The CFL title has not been won by any club other than East Bengal and Mohun Bagan since 1981, which makes putting a credible title contender through such harsh fixtures a questionable decision by the state football body.

The other question is that of security; East Bengal and Mohun Bagan stadiums are just a few hundred meters away from each other, and due to the hostile relations between their fans having matches in both stadiums on the same day creates a risk of clashes between them in the streets.

There is also no information on whether any of the matches will be televised or live streamed.

Related Post