TFG Logo


More...   /   Hockey   /  

Hockey India names 18-member squad for the FIH Men’s Series Finals

Hockey India on Tuesday named the 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team for the much-awaited FIH Men’s Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha 2019 scheduled to begin on 6 June 2019 at the iconic Kalinga Hockey Stadium. The event will see India grouped in Pool A along with Russia, Poland and Uzbekistan while 18th Asian Games Gold Medalist Japan, Mexico, USA and South Africa are grouped in Pool B.   

The Indian team for the coveted event will be led by Manpreet Singh and Vice-Captained by Birendra Lakra. Experienced goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and Krishan B Pathak will defend India's goalpost while Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas and Gurinder Singh will add to India’s might in the backline.  

The midfield will see Manpreet Singh play a key role along with youngsters Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Sumit and Nilakanta Sharma. The forward-line will see the return of striker Ramandeep Singh who last wore the India colours at the FIH Champions Trophy in Breda last year. He had since been out of action due to a knee injury. He will join Mandeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Simranjeet Singh and Akashdeep Singh to form India’s attack.

India begin their campaign on 6 June 2019 against Russia and will be aiming to finish on the top in order to make it for the Olympic Qualifying event to be held later this year. “I am very much looking forward to my first FIH tournament as Chief Coach of the Indian team. The FIH Men's Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha 2019 is an important step in the Olympic qualification process,” expressed Chief Coach Graham Reid.

“We have selected a well-balanced group including Ramandeep Singh, who is returning from injury and Varun Kumar who was rested for the Australian tour. Sumit and Amit Rohidas too return to bolster our defensive capabilities and our Penalty Corner. Simranjeet also returns to add some flexibility and strike power to the forward-line,” stayed Reid about the team composition.

Speaking about India’s preparedness for the tournament, Reid said, “Our focus for the tournament will be consistency of performance. To achieve this will we need to respect every opposition and give our 100 per cent every quarter, each half, each game. Our goal will be to be the best team we can be.”

He further added that the team’s emphasis at the moment is on circle entries, finishing, tight marking and tackling. “The Australian tour made us very aware of the level we need to play at to compete with the best teams of the world and we need to aim for that each time we train and each time we play. We are spending a lot of time at the moment on our circle entries, our finishing, tight marking and tackling and we want to see improvements in these areas. PCs are also important and we have chosen three drag flickers to use during the tournament,” said Reid.

The Indian Team:


1. PR Sreejesh 
2. Krishan B Pathak 

3. Harmanpreet Singh                                              
4. Birendra Lakra                 (Vice Captain)                          
5. Surender Kumar                            
6. Varun Kumar
7. Amit Rohidas
8. Gurinder Singh


9. Manpreet Singh                            (Captain)                                     
10. Hardik Singh                                               
11. Vivek Sagar Prasad                                   
12. Sumit
13. Nilakanta Sharma


14. Mandeep Singh                                         
15. Akashdeep Singh                           
16. Ramandeep Singh                         
17. Gursahibjit Singh
18. Simranjit Singh

Love Fantasy Sports? Get all the info here. Subscribe Now

* indicates required

Related Post

Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.