TFG Logo


IPL   /   More...   /   Cricket   /  

BANNED: Smith and Warner kiss goodbye to their international and IPL hopes for a year

TARNISHED CRICKETERS Steve Smith and David Warner have been slapped with a one-year ban by Cricket Australia for their role in the ball-tampering fiasco in the recently concluded third Test in Cape Town. Meanwhile, youngster Cameron Bancroft has been banned for nine months. 

While the three are still free to play club cricket, we won’t see Smith and Warner in the forthcoming IPL after the BCCI announced their decision a few hours ago. 

Remember, Smith was recently appointed the skipper of Rajasthan Royals, only to be stripped of it a few days ago after the ball-tampering episode. On the other hand, the Sunrisers Hyderabad too will be looking out for a new captain after Warner’s ban. 

BCCI’s release further stated, 

“The BCCI hopes that the cricketers participating in the IPL hold the highest regard for the Spirit of Cricket and Code of Conduct for Players and Match Officials.” 

While the fourth and final Test begins on 30 March, the replacements in Glenn Maxwell, Joe Burns and Matt Renshaw will replace the tainted trio in Johannesburg. However, coach Darren Lehmann will carry on with his duties. 

Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.