READ: Pro Kabaddi Season 5 new format explained

MASHAL SPORTS, the pioneer of Pro Kabaddi, have revealed a new format and have announced the fixtures for the season five, starting July 28, this year. 

The season will kick-off in Hyderabad and will travel across 12 host cities in the next three months before holding the finals at Chennai on October 28. The inaugural game will see a clash between Rahul Choudhari-led Telugu Titans and debutant franchise Tamil Thalaivas.

The 12 teams have been divided into two zones of six teams each, which have been created based on the geographical proximity. Each of the teams will be playing 15 intra-zone and 7 inter-zone matches prior to the play-offs. The play-offs stage will comprise three action-packed qualifiers and two eliminators, which will be held in Mumbai and Chennai. 

The new format with zonal structure has been built with an intent of producing rivalries and generating a larger fan base. Speaking at the Media Forum event held in Mumbai, League Commissioner Anupam Goswami, said, 

“For season 5, our goal was to create a high-impact tournament which evokes euphoric sentiment among fans for their favourite teams. Strong contenders will be seen clashing in the action-packed three months of the league. The longer duration of the league, in addition to 12 teams battling in 138 matches, will give fans an exciting season of kabaddi to cheer for.”

Zone A Zone B
Dabang Delhi Telugu Titans
Jaipur Pink Panthers Bengaluru Bulls         
Puneri Paltan Patna Pirates
U Mumba Bengal Warriors 
Haryana Steelers UP Yoddha
Gujarat Fortunegiants Tamil Thalaivas

Qualifier 1: Zone A 2nd v/s Zone B 3rd

Qualifier 2: Zone A 3rd v/s Zone B 2nd

Qualifier 3: Zone A 1st v/s Zone B 1st

Eliminator 1: Winner of Qualifier 1 v/s Winner of Qualifier 2

Eliminator 2: Loser of Qualifier 3 v/s Winner of Eliminator 1

Final: Winner of Qualifier 3 v/s Winner of Eliminator 2

Related Post