TFG Logo


IPL   /   More...   /   Cricket   /  

CSA reveals marquee Protea players for T20 Global Destination League

CRICKET SOUTH AFRICA has announced the eight marquee Protea players who will be representing one franchise each for the two editions of the T20 Global Destination League, which is scheduled to kick-off later this year. This follows the announcement last week of the eight marquee foreign international players.

Each marquee Protea player will be allocated to a new franchise team based in the city he has either been historically associated with or a city with which he can build a strong association. The list of marquee Protea players are:

1)      Hashim Amla
2)      Quinton de Kock
3)      AB de Villiers
4)      JP Duminy
5)      Faf du Plessis
6)      David Miller
7)      Kagiso Rabada
8)      Imran Tahir

Speaking at the announcement, CSA Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said,

“The selection of our own South African marquee players has been very exciting. This announcement is another major step towards establishing our new T20 League in South Africa. We must not understate the world class quality of our own players. They are household names across the world and our fans in South Africa will finally get the chance to see them compete against one another at home. Together with the international marquee players announced last week, the Protea stars will add great value to the new franchise teams they will represent.”

Meanwhile, South Arica skipper AB de Villiers said that he was eager to get ahead with the tournament.

"I'm honoured to be part of this list and cannot wait for the competition to get going. It's amazing to think that the best in the world are going to be here on our shores. Looking at the international names, they are individuals that have changed the landscape of T20 cricket and I look forward to featuring in the league."

As announced last week, each franchise team will also be allocated an international marquee player. This means that each team will start with two marquee players named in their 17-man squad. The rest of the squad will be assembled by the team owners and coach in a player draft system. The process of acquiring team ownership is presently underway with the closing date for bidder proposals being 28 April 2017.

Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.

Related Post

Get the latest in the world of Sports, Teams, and Players! Free Delivery to your Inbox.